April 28, 2008

Bidne Is Co-Newcomer Of The Year

April 28, 2008

HARTFORD, Conn. -- University of Northern Colorado freshman Stephen Bidne was honored Monday, April 28, as the America Sky Golf Conference Co-Newcomer of the Year for the 2007-2008 season. Keaton Woodland of Weber State was the other recipient of the conference's inaugural award.

Bidne (St. Paul, Minn.) consistently led the Bears in tournament action this year with highlights including tying a school record for lowest round, placing first at the Colorado School of Mines Invitational and most recently posting the team's best individual score at the US Intercollegiate tournament.

In fall 2007, Bidne tied for 23rd at the inaugural America Sky Conference Golf Championship after shooting a 152 (+8) two-day total. He also sunk a hole-in-one at the Pacific Invitational.

This is the first year of NCAA affiliation for the America Sky Golf Conference, which includes Binghamton, Hartford, Idaho State, Northern Colorado, Sacramento State, Texas-Pan American, Utah Valley and Weber State.

2007-08 America Sky Golf Conference awards and all-conference teams
Coach of the year: Bill Poutre, Hartford
Player of the year: A.J. Oleksak, Sr., Hartford
Co-newcomer of the year: Keaton Woodland, Fr., Weber State; Stephen Bidne, Fr., Northern Colorado

First team:
A.J. Oleksak, Sr., Hartford
Nick Nelson, Jr., Utah Valley
Grant Norton, So., Sacramento State
Kyle Prolo, Jr., Idaho State
Nick MacDonald, So., Hartford

Second team:
Zach Vinal, Sr., Binghamton
Tyler Herzog, Jr., Weber State
Shane Pearce, Jr., Texas-Pan American
Armen Kirakossian, So., Texas-Pan American
Scott DeBorba, Jr., Sacramento State