December 31, 2009

Three Named To NFFCC All-Colorado Team

NFFCC Release | Thompson Bio | Eddy Bio | Askew Bio

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The National Football Foundation-Colorado Chapter released its 2009 NFF All-Colorado Team and the University of Northern Colorado had three named to the Second Team. Senior wide receiver Alex Thompson, junior linebacker John Eddy and junior cornerback Korey Askew were all honored.

Thompson was the lone selection on offense, earning Second Team honors after leading the team with 71 receptions for 864 yards and seven touchdowns. Thompson was also an honorable mention selection to the Big Sky All-Conference team after ranking fourth in the league in receptions per game and sixth in receiving yards per game.

Eddy was second on the team with 80 tackles, averaging 10.0 per game and had a team-best 5.5 sacks on the year. He also forced a team-most four fumbles and had four quarterback hurries and one pass breakup in his eight games. Eddy was a Second-Team All-Big Sky pick by the league's coaches.

Askew was also named to the Second-Team All-Big Sky team at the conclusion of the season after notching three interceptions for 112 yards, two fumble recoveries for 41 yards, nine pass breakups one forced fumble and 74 total tackles on the year. Askew led the league with 12 passes defended and had the most interception return yards of any Big Sky player.

Colorado Mines' Adam Saur and Marc Schiechl were named the NFFCC Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, while Adams State's freshman David Van Voris was voted the Special Teams Player of the Year.  United States Air Force Academy head coach Troy Calhoun has been selected the NFFCC Coach of the Year.

NFFCC board members and the sports information directors from the 10 institutions in Colorado voted on the 2009 NFF All-Colorado team.  The 10 Colorado institutions consist of Adams State, Air Force Academy, Colorado, Colorado Mines, Colorado State, Colorado State-Pueblo, Fort Lewis, Mesa State, Northern Colorado, and Western State.