May 1, 2003

UNC Announces 2002-03 Award Winners

May 1, 2003

The University of Northern Colorado department of athletics announced today its 2002-03 Athletics Award recipients. This year's awards were presented at the Annual Senior Awards Banquet, held Wednesday evening, April 30, at the University Center Ballroom.

(Graduating female senior-athlete with highest GPA)

Catie Holden (Soccer - San Jose, N.M.)
Holden, one of the captains of the women's soccer team, was an All-NCC Academic selection in 2002. She scored three goals and assisted on a third during her senior season, helping lead her team to the NCAA Tournament. Holden has a 3.96 grade point average and majored in English.

Dr. Mary Behling Scholar Athlete Award Winners (Graduating female senior athlete with highest GPA)
2002-03 Catie Holden, Soccer
2001-02 Kelly Gordon, Volleyball & Katie Hostetler-Farris, Cross Country/Track & Field
2000-01 Tiffany Helmick, Softball
1999-00 Joyce Jordahl, Volleyball
1998-99 Jodie Nomi, Soccer & Karen Smidt, Cross Country/Track & Field
1997-98 Jennifer Altman, Basketball & Missy McVoy, Basketball

(Graduating male senior-athlete with highest GPA)

Michael Carrasco (Baseball - Eaton, Colo.)
Carrasco is a four-year starter at third base with the UNC baseball team. As a junior, Carrasco led the Bears with 11 home runs. This season he has 30 hits and 14 RBI's and has helped the Bears to only the third, 30-plus victory total in school history. Carrasco has a 3.43 grade point average and majored in Kinesiology.

Dr. George Sage Scholar Athlete Award Winners (Graduating male senior athlete with highest GPA)
2002-03 Michael Carrasco, Baseball
2001-02 Lewis Walker, Football
2000-01 Marshall Hahn, Wrestling
1999-00 Tony DiPaolo, Track & Field
1998-99 Rob Sistek, Wrestling
1997-98 Michael Simpson, Baseball

(Given to one female and one male student-athlete)

Kristi Krom (Volleyball - Strasburg, Colo.)
According to her coach, Krom "takes a great deal of pride in how she represents UNC." She has participated in many community service activities including reading to blind students through the Disability Access Center, volunteering at the North Colorado Medical Center, helping to set up at the 9NEWS Health Fair, helping move students into UNC during the fall and through all that holds a 4.00 GPA. Krom was the libero for the UNC volleyball team this season and her play was instrumental in the Bears finishing 31-3 and advancing to the NCAA Elite 8.

Female Sportsmanship Award Winners
2002-03 Kristi Krom, Volleyball
2001-02 Kelly Gordon, Volleyball
2000-01 Julia Hornbeck, Soccer
1999-00 Jessica Logan, Basketball
1998-99 Cathy Bowles, Basketball
1997-98 Robin Berg, Swimming & Diving

Reed Doughty (Football - Johnstown, Colo.)
Doughty earned First-Team All-NCC Academic honors, and was a starting redshirt freshman defensive back for the NCC Champion football squad. He participates in many community outreach activities and is a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Council.

Male Sportsmanship Award Winners
2002-03 Reed Doughty, Football
2001-02 Jared Ramirez, Basketball
2000-01 Rob Kuseski, Tennis
1999-00 Brian Lonergan, Football
1998-99 Mickael Allen, Basketball
1997-98 Tony DiPaolo, Track & Field

(Given to one female and one male student-athlete)

Kelley Cobb (Track & Field - Orem, Utah)
As a freshman last season, Cobb qualified for the 2002 NCAA Division II Outdoor Track and Field Championships. She also set the UNC school record in the javelin.

Ron Jett (Track & Field - Denver, Colo.)
As a freshman last season, Jett qualified for the 2002 NCAA Division II Outdoor Track and Field Championships. He captured the Mike Bennett Decathlon with a then personal-best 7,000 points. He went on to place 5th at the national championships and earned All-America honors as a redshirt freshman.

Freshman Athlete of the Year Award Winners
2002-03 Kelley Cobb, Track & Field & Ron Jett, Track & Field
2001-02 Saree Hoopii, Swimming & Vincent Jackson, Football
2000-01 Erin Deffenbaugh, Volleyball & Jason McMillan, Wrestling

(Given to one female and one male student-athlete)

Missy Borell (Women's Basketball - Mahtomedi, Minn.)
Borell finished her career as UNC's all-time leading scorer in a career (1,866) and a season (555 points in 2002-03), and also the career leader in field goals made (682) and free-throws made (469). She also ranked second all-time at UNC in rebounding (837) and blocked shots (157). She set a career-high by scoring 34 points against North Dakota State on Feb. 1. She scored 20-plus points 38 times in her career. She was honored as NCC Player of the Week six times and started the last 83 games of her outstanding career.

Female Senior Athlete of the Year Winners
2002-03 Missy Borell, Basketball 2001-02 Theresa Mattingly, Cross Country/Swimming
2000-01 Cecilia Rubeling, Golf
1999-00 Joyce Jordahl, Volleyball
1998-99 Roxann Kaiser, Tennis
1997-98 Lezley Imai, Tennis

Anthony Dunn (Football - Manassa, Colo.)
Dunn enjoyed a stellar four-year career on the UNC Football team. He was a three-time First-team All-NCC selection and this past season led the Bears into the NCAA Div. II semifinals. This past season, he also earned All-America status as a defensive end. He recently signed a free agent contract with the Tennessee Titans of the National Football League.

Male Senior Athlete of the Year
2002-03 Anthony Dunn, Football
2001-02 Toby Michael, Baseball
2000-01 Marshall Hahn, Wrestling
1999-00 Scott Zimmerman, Football
1998-99 Brian Scott, Football
1997-98 Mike Allen, Track & Field

(Given to one female and one male student-athlete)

Junior volleyball player Erin Deffenbaugh (with UNC Assistant Athletics Director Julie Hill) was named UNC Outstanding Female Athlete at the UNC Senior Awards Banquet on Tuesday.

Erin Deffenbaugh (Vollyeball - Strasburg, Colo.)
Deffenbaugh was not only is the best volleyball player in the North Central Conference she was selected as the NCAA Div. II Volleyball Player of the Year after helping lead the UNC Bears to the Elite Eight and a North Central Conference championship. She was also honored by the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame as the Female College Athlete of the Year. The Sportswomen of Colorado also named her the top collegiate volleyball player in the state. She holds virtually every volleyball record at UNC and she's only a junior. She was a six-time NCC Volleyball Player of the Week winner and also nabbed National Player of the Week honors three times.

Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year
2002-03 Erin Deffenbaugh, Volleyball
2001-02 Mandy Nilsen, Soccer
2000-01 Cecilia Rubeling, Golf
1999-00 Joyce Jordahl, Volleyball
1998-99 Kim Schiemenz, Track & Field/Volleyball
1997-98 Missy McVoy, Basketball

Brody Olson (Wrestling - Rawlins, Wyo.)
Olson was the Bears' highest finisher at the 2003 NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships. He earned All-American honors, for the second straight season with a runner-up finish in a 2-1 setback to North Dakota State's Paul Carlson in the national championship match at 157 pounds. He also placed second at the NCC championships. He completed his UNC grappling career with 102 victories to rank third on the Bears' all-time win list.

Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year
2002-03 Brody Olson, Wrestling
2001-02 Ronnie Stafford, Wrestling
2000-01 Rob Kuseski, Tennis
1999-00 Corte McGuffey, Football
1998-99 Scott Hewit, Wrestling
1997-98 Billy Holmes, Football